Categories: High content

Foods with gluten (and how to diet without this protein)


Discover the foods with gluten (and how to diet without this protein).

Gluten is a protein that is present in foods such as wheat flour, barley, and rye. This protein can cause inflammation at the abdominal level, mainly in people with gluten intolerance or sensitivity, as well as the appearance of symptoms such as diarrhea, pain, and abdominal distension. 

At present, many industrialized foods contain this protein, mainly because they are made from wheat flour.

For this reason, it is important that before buying any product, the nutritional labeling is read, choosing those that indicate that they are “gluten-free” or in English ” gluten-free “.


List of foods that contain gluten

Below is a list with some examples of foods with gluten, which should not be consumed in case of gluten intolerance or sensitivity:

• loaves of bread, toasts, cookies, cakes, pasta, cakes, noodles, croissants, pita bread, naan, donuts, cakes, wheat tortillas (industrialized);

• Beer, shakes, pizza, snacks, hamburgers, and hot dogs;


• Wheat germ, couscous, bulgur, wheat semolina, farro wheat, Kamut, spelled, semolina, malt;

• Ketchup, mayonnaise, white sauces, and other industrialized sauces, soy sauce, brewer’s yeast;

• Sausages, cold cuts and some types of cheeses;


• Cereals, cereal bars, syrups;


• Dehydrated soups or ready dressings;

• Nutritional supplements, whether herbal or sports.

Oatmeal is a food that does not contain gluten, however, during its production process, it can be contaminated with wheat, barley, or rye since it is usually processed in the same industries.

In addition to this, some medications, lipsticks, or products for oral hygiene, may also contain gluten. 


How to go on a gluten-free diet?

The gluten-free diet is indicated for all people who have an intolerance or sensitivity to gluten, however, everyone can benefit from it, because most of the foods that contain this protein are high in fat and sugar, so that provide many calories to the body and promote weight gain.

To follow a gluten-free diet, it is important to substitute wheat, barley, or rye flour for others that do not contain gluten, mainly to make cakes, cookies, tortillas, or loaves of bread. Some examples are almond, coconut, buckwheat, carob, or amaranth flour.

In the case of the purchase of industrialized products, it is very important to be vigilant and read the nutritional labeling, since all foods by law must indicate whether or not they have gluten in their composition.

Even in some countries, restaurants must specify whether or not the food contains gluten, to prevent a person with intolerance or sensitivity from consuming it. 


However, it is important to consult with a nutritionist to avoid unnecessary elimination of foods from the diet and to adapt the diet according to the individual needs of the person.


Sponsored links

Recent Posts

20 best foods to prevent cancer

Discover the 20 best foods to prevent cancer. We spend our lives looking for a…

2 months ago

6 best foods to lower cholesterol

Discover the 6 best foods to lower cholesterol. Cholesterol is found naturally in our body…

2 months ago

12 foods rich in folic acid for health

Discover the 12 foods rich in folic acid for health. There are many foods in…

2 months ago

12 good carbohydrate rich foods

Discover the 12 good carbohydrate rich foods. It is generally known that excessive carbohydrate consumption…

2 months ago

70 lists of foods rich in antioxidants

Discover the 70 lists of foods rich in antioxidants. In this post, we are going…

2 months ago

10 foods that strengthen the immune system

Discover the 10 foods that strengthen the immune system. Autumn is already making an appearance…

2 months ago